X


Banner Image

Sign a Trespass Letter

A signed trespass letter gives the San Rafael Police Department authority to inspect your property for persons trespassing, sleeping, lodging, residing, or loitering, and to authorize the San Rafael Police Department to act as your agent for the purpose of enforcing the trespassing and unlawful lodging.

San Rafael Police Department

San Rafael Police Department

For Immediate Release

Author: Sgt. Raul Aguilar
Date: April 05, 2019 8:01 AM

San Rafael Police Department Challenges Drivers to 'silence' the Distraction

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

San Rafael, CA – April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and the San Rafael Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California’s hands-free cell phone law.
 
On April 4 and April 19 San Rafael Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones.
 
Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes. 
 
“Cell phones remain one of the top distractions for drivers,” San Rafael Police Department Sergeant Holm said. “Like any bad habit, it can be hard to break, but this habit can have life-altering consequences.”  

A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2016. 


“That text or phone call will never be worth losing a life over,” stated Sgt. Holm.  “That is why curbing distracted driving is high on our priority list.”

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a handsfree manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine.
 
If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or trunk.
 
Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
 

# # #

Posted: April 05, 2019 11:01 PDT by A. Holm #517

Updated: April 05, 2019 11:04 PDT by Alex Holm

MORE NEWS

Front Lobby of PD Closed for Power Shutdown

Fugitive Arrested in Vallejo

Woman Dies After Suspected Drug Overdose

San Rafael Police Department Challenges Drivers to 'silence' the Distraction

One Suspect Arrested for Armed Residential Burglary; One Suspect Outstanding